Skip to main content

How Many Heisman Trophy Winners Have Won the National Championship?

  • Author:
  • Updated:

2019 Heisman Trophy winner Joe Burrow and the LSU Tigers have won the 2019-20 national championship, beating Clemson 42-25. He threw thew for 463 yards and five touchdowns and ran for another score, as LSU over overcame its first double-digit deficit of the season. In the process, the school claimed its first national title since 2007.

Burrow threw for 493 yards and recorded eight touchdowns in the CFP semifinal game. For most of the regular season, he was the frontrunner to win the Heisman. The senior shattered single-season school records for passing touchdowns and yards while throwing just six interceptions during his rise from being an average Joe to becoming a potential No. 1 NFL draft pick.

An Ohio native, Burrow grew up dreaming of playing at Nebraska, who passed on him. The QB spent the first three seasons of his college career sitting on the bench at Ohio State before he decided to transfer to LSU as a redshirt junior. 

Scroll to Continue

SI Recommends

He added to his dominant season and joined an elite list of players who have won the Heisman Trophy and the national championship in the same season. After Burrow, 16 players have accomplished both feats. Check out the full list below:

1. Davey O’Brien, QB, TCU, 1938
2. Bruce Smith, RB, Minnesota, 1940
3. Angelo Bertelli, QB, Notre Dame, 1943
4. Felix 'Doc' Blanchard, FB, Army, 1945
5. John Lujack, QB, Notre Dame, 1947
6. Leon Hart, TE, Notre Dame, 1949
7. Tony Dorsett, RB, Pittsburgh, 1976
8. Charlie Ward, QB, Florida State, 1993
9. Danny Wuerffel, QB, Florida, 1996
10. Charles Woodson, CB, Michigan, 1997
11. Matt Leinart, QB, USC, 2004
12. Mark Ingram, RB, Alabama, 2009
13. Cam Newton, QB, Auburn, 2010
14. Jameis Winston, QB, Florida State, 2013
15. Derrick Henry, RB, Alabama, 2015

16. Joe Burrow, QB, LSU, 2019