Olympic champs Vos, Meares elected to UCI athletes group

AIGLE, Switzerland (AP) Olympic gold medalists Marianne Vos and Anna Meares have been elected to the revived International Cycling Union athletes' commission.

The UCI says the athlete panel's leader will join its policy-making management committee.

The 13-member athletes group, elected by all disciplines, will appoint a president when it first meets in about three months.

UCI President Brian Cookson says the athletes group follows ''my concept of modern governance that is founded on dialogue and cooperation between the UCI and cycling's main players.''

Vos of the Netherlands is the 2012 Olympic road race champion and a multiple world champion on the road, track, and in cyclocross.

Australia's Meares is a two-time Olympic track champion.

Both were members of an athletes' commission created by the previous UCI leadership.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.