Publish date:

2021 BMW Championship: Purse, Payouts, Prize Money Breakdown

Patrick Cantlay defeated Bryson DeChambeau in a six-hole playoff to win $1.71 million at the PGA Tour's BMW Championship.

Patrick Cantlay made a birdie on the sixth playoff hole Sunday to win a dramatic playoff against Bryson DeChambeau, capture the 2021 BMW Championship and earn the winner's share of $1,710,000, part of the event's $9.5 million total purse.

See the European Tour's BMW Championship projected payout here.

Cantlay holed an 18-footer for birdie on No. 18 for the win at Caves Valley Golf Club in Owings Mills, Maryland. DeChambeau had a chance to tie but his 8-footer rolled past and one of the most engaging PGA Tour playoffs in recent memory was over.

DeChambeau missed a six-foot putt for birdie on the second playoff hole that would have ended the extra golf. He followed that with a drive into the water on the 18th hole, the fourth playoff hole of the day. But he recovered to make par and extended the playoff. Both players birdied No. 17, the fourth playoff hole of the day, to set up the finale.

Cantlay forced the playoff when he holed a clutch 21-foot birdie putt on the 18th hole. DeChambeau could not match him, missing a 15-footer that would have won the tournament, the penultimate event of the 2021 Fed Ex Cup Playoffs.

DeChambeau and Cantlay finished 72 holes at -27, four shots ahead of Sungjae Im and five ahead of Rory McIlroy 

The top 30 players in the Fed Ex Cup standings after this event more on to next week's Tour Championship at East Lake in Atlanta. Here's the complete prize money rundown for this week (per the PGA Tour):

2021 BMW Championship: Full prize money breakdown

1. $1,710,000 — Patrick Cantlay
2: $1,026,000 — Bryson DeChambeau
3: $646,000 — Sungjae Im
4: $456,000 — Rory McIlroy
5: $380,000 — Erik van Rooyen
T6: $330,125 — Dustin Johnson, Sergio Garcia
8: $294,500 — Sam Burns
T9: $256,500 — Abraham Ancer, Jon Rahm, Alex Noren
T12: $199,500 — Harold Varner III, Webb Simpson, K.H. Lee
T15: $166,250 — Tony Finau, Jason Kokrak
T17: $133,000 — Charl Schwartzel, Aaron Wise, Viktor Hovland, Hudson Swafford, Kevin Na
T22: $95,000 — Scottie Scheffler, Corey Conners, Brooks Koepka, Justin Thomas
T26: $73,150 — Shane Lowry, Daniel Berger, Harris English
T29: $61,750 — Joaquin Niemann, Si Woo Kim, Sebastián Muñoz, Brian Harman, Cam Davis
T34: $50,113 — Cameron Smith, Jordan Spieth, Lee Westwood, Patton Kizzire
T38: $38,000 — Stewart Cink, Louis Oosthuizen, Charley Hoffman, Harry Higgs, Jhonattan Vegas, Paul Casey, Matt Jones, Lucas Glover
T46: $28,500 — Hideki Matsuyama, Emiliano Grillo
48: $26,030 — Chris Kirk
T49: $24,320 — Xander Schauffele, Tom Hoge
51: $23,370 — Marc Leishman
T52: $22,154 — Kevin Streelman, Branden Grace, Cameron Tringale, Billy Horschel, Mackenzie Hughes
T57: $21,280 — Keith Mitchell, Ryan Palmer, Talor Gooch
T60: $20,710 — Russell Henley, Keegan Bradley, Robert Streb
T63: $20,140 — Collin Morikawa, Maverick McNealy, Max Homa
T66: $19,475 — Cameron Champ, Kevin Kisner, Phil Mickelson, Carlos Ortiz