January 20, 2013

Olympian Missy Franklin won the 200-meter backstroke after taking the 200 freestyle at the Austin Grand Prix on Saturday night, with Nathan Adrian winning his second title of the meet.

Franklin set a meet record in the 200 back, touching first in 2 minutes, 7.31 seconds and lowering the old mark of 2:07.59 set by Kirsty Coventry. Hilary Caldwell was second at 2:12.13 and Miyuki Takemura finished third in 2:13.74.

Earlier, Franklin won the 200 free in 1:57.69. Quinn Carrozza was second in 1:59.42 and Barbara Jardin finished third at 1:59.98. It was Franklin's third title in two days, having won the 100 free on Friday.

Adrian won the 50 free in 21.70 seconds to go with his earlier title in the men's 100 free. Fellow Olympians Anthony Ervin and Jimmy Feigen both touched in 22.43.

Amanda Weir won the women's 50 free in 25.53.

Ricky Berens won the 200 free by holding off a field that included fellow Olympians Ryan Lochte and Conor Dwyer. Berens finished in 1:48.39. Michael Klueh was second at 1:49.48, while Lochte was third at 1:50.19.

Tyler Clary won the 400 individual medley in 4:20.36, which was nearly 7 seconds faster than his time in the morning preliminaries.

Matt Grevers shaved 8 seconds off of his prelim time to win 200 back in 1:58.84. Clary was second in 2:01.02.

The three-day meet ends Sunday.

You May Like