Here's how the eight remaining teams in the Gold Cup stack up entering the knockout stage.

By Avi Creditor
July 18, 2017

After a rather bland group stage (save for French Guiana brazenly taking us to a special place during its Florent Malouda saga), CONCACAF's Gold Cup is really set to begin.

The knockout stage features reinforcements, regional powers on a collision course to face one another and an overall intriguing path to the July 26 final at Levi's Stadium in Santa Clara, California. 

Not every team has turned to its preliminary roster for new additions. Mexico has chosen to go on with the 23-man, experimental squad that won Group C, giving those players the chance to fight for a trophy while more established players remain at home. Conversely, the USA has used all six of its allotted roster swaps, calling in the likes of Tim Howard, Clint Dempsey, Michael Bradley, Jozy Altidore and Darlington Nagbe (and untested third goalkeeper Jesse Gonzalez) in hopes of putting forth its strongest foot to win the title.

Planet Futbol
USA does enough vs. Nicaragua, wins Gold Cup group to avoid Costa Rica in quarterfinal

Taking into account new-look rosters, matchups and paths to the title (and the fact that no matter how talented Central American or Caribbean sides have been, there's a pure Mexican-American dominance over this competition), here's how the Gold Cup's final eight teams stack up entering Wednesday's opening quarterfinal matches:

2017 Gold Cup Quarterfinal Power Rankings

You May Like