Robben free to play on despite 'diving' comments

RIO DE JANEIRO (AP) World Cup organizers will take no action against Arjen Robben after he apparently acknowledged diving during the Netherlands' 2-1 victory over Mexico in Sunday's second-round match.

The Dutch forward is reported to have apologized for diving early in the game, but not when he won the decisive penalty in injury time. He said that was a ''definite foul.''

Robben made his comments about diving on Dutch television, but the Dutch football association issued a statement saying his comments were misunderstood.

FIFA spokeswoman Delia Fischer says the disciplinary committee only ''will look into serious infringements.'' She said a yellow card would not be issued retroactively against Robben.

She says: ''We ask the players to play in the spirit of fair play. It's up to the referees to manage a match.''

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.