World Cup Qualifying Draw List

ST. PETERSBURG, Russia (AP) Qualifying draw Saturday for the 2018 World Cup, to be played in Russia from June 14-July 15:


(13 nations qualify)=

(Russia also qualifies as host)=

Sept. 4, 2016, to Oct. 10, 2017=

Group winners qualify=

Top eight second-place nations advance to playoffs=

Group A-Belarus, Bulgaria, France, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Sweden

Group B-Andorra, Faeroe Islands, Hungary, Latvia, Portugal, Switzerland

Group C-Azerbaijan, Czech Republic, Germany, Northern Ireland, Norway, San Marino

Group D-Austria, Georgia, Ireland, Moldova, Serbia, Wales

Group E-Armenia, Denmark, Kazakhstan, Montenegro, Romania

Group F-England, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Scotland, Slovakia, Slovenia

Group G-Albania, Israel, Italy, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Spain

Group H-Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Cyprus, Estonia, Greece

Group I-Croatia, Finland, Iceland, Turkey, Ukraine


Nov. 9-14, 2017=


Winners qualify=



(4 or 5 nations qualify)=

Sept. 4, 2016, to Oct. 10, 2017=

One group of 10 nations=

Double round robin=

Top four nations qualify=

Fifth-place nation advances to playoff vs. Oceania=

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela




(3 or 4 nations qualify)=

Third round=

Aug. 31 to Sept. 8, 2015=


Winners advance=

Antigua and Barbuda vs. Guatemala

Canada vs. Belize

Curacao vs. El Salvador

Grenada vs. Haiti

Jamaica vs. Nicaragua

St. Vincent and the Grenadines vs. Aruba

Fourth round=

Nov. 7, 2015, to Sept. 6, 2016=

Double round robin=

Top two nations in each group advance=

Group A-Canada-Belize winner, Curacao-El Salvador winner, Honduras, Mexico

Group B-Costa Rica, Grenada-Haiti winner, Jamaica-Nicaragua winner, Panama

Group C-Antigua and Barbuda-Guatemala winner, St. Vincent and the Grenadines-Aruba winner, Trinidad and Tobago, United States

Fifth round (Hexagonal)=

Nov. 7, 2016, to Oct. 10, 2017=

Double round robin=

Top three nations qualify=

Fourth-place nation advances to playoff vs. Asia



(4 or 5 nations qualify)=

Second round=

June 11, 2015, to March 29, 2016=

Double round robin (drawn April 14)=

Group winners and top four second-place nations advance=

Group A-East Timor, Malaysia, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates

Group B-Australia, Bangladesh, Jordan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan

Group C-Bhutan, China, Hong Kong, Maldives, Qatar

Group D-Guam, India, Iran, Oman, Turkmenistan

Group E-Afghanistan, Cambodia, Japan, Singapore, Syria

Group F-Iraq, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam (Indonesia disqualified)

Group G-Kuwait, Laos, Lebanon, Myanmar, South Korea

Group H-Bahrain, North Korea, Philippines, Uzbekistan, Yemen

Third round=

Aug. 29, 2016, to Sept. 5, 2017=

Two groups of six=

Double round robin=

Top two nations in each group qualify=

Third place nations advance to playoff=

Fourth round=

Oct. 2-10, 2017=


Winner advances to playoff vs. CONCACAF



(5 nations qualify)=

First round=

Oct. 5-13, 2015=


Winners advance=

Central African Republic vs. Madagascar

Chad vs. Sierra Leone

Comoros vs. Lesotho

Djibouti vs. Swaziland

Eritrea vs. Botswana

Gambia vs. Namibia

Liberia vs. Guinea-Bissau

Mauritius vs. Kenya

Sao Tome e Principe vs. Ethiopia

Seychelles vs. Burundi

Somalia vs. Niger

South Sudan vs. Mauritania

Tanzania vs. Malawi

Second round=

Nov. 9-17, 2015=


Winners advance=

Angola vs. South Africa

Benin vs. Burkina Faso

Central African Republic-Madagascar winner vs. Senegal

Chad-Sierra Leone winner vs. Egypt

Comoros-Lesotho winner vs. Ghana

Djibouti-Swaziland winner vs. Nigeria

Eritrea vs. Botswana winner vs. Mali

Gambia-Namibia winner vs. Guinea

Liberia-Guinea-Bissau winner vs. Ivory Coast

Libya vs. Rwanda

Mauritius-Kenya winner vs. Cape Verde Islands

Morocco vs. Equatorial Guinea

Mozambique vs. Gabon

Sao Tome e Principe-Ethiopia winner vs. Republic of Congo

Seychelles-Burundi winner vs. Congo

Somalia-Niger winner vs. Cameroon

South Sudan-Mauritania winner vs. Tunisia

Sudan vs. Zambia

Tanzania-Malawi winner vs. Algeria

Togo vs. Uganda

Third round=

Oct. 3, 2016, to Nov. 14, 2017=

Five groups of four=

Double round robin=

Group winners qualify=



(0 or 1 nations qualify)=

First round=

Aug. 31 to Sept. 4, 2015=

Round robin=

Group winner advances=

American Samoa, Cook Islands, Samoa, Tonga

Second round=

May 28 to June 12, 2015=

Two groups of four=

Top three nations in each group advance=

Group A-New Caledonia, Papua New Guinea, Tahiti, Round One winner

Group B-Fiji, New Zealand, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu

Third round=

March 20 to Oct. 10, 2017=

Two groups of three=

Group winners meet in home-and-home series=

Series winner advances to playoff vs. South America

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.