By 90Min
December 18, 2017

Manuel Lanzini has been charged by the Football Association for the "successful deception of a match official" during the Hammers 3-0 victory over Stoke City on Saturday, the FA confirmed on their website.


The Argentine playmaker went down under a challenge from Erik Pieters in the penalty area, convincing referee Graham Scott to award a spot kick.

Mark Noble stepped up for the visitors to calmly put West Ham in front, however, Stoke supporters were furious at the decision to award a penalty and believed Lanzini had dived. 


The 24-year-old was also involved in creating West Ham's other goals at the bet365 Stadium, with Marko Arnautović and Diafra Sakho the beneficiaries of Lanzini's creativity.

Tony Marshall/GettyImages

Lanzini and the club have been told they have until 6pm on December 19 if they wish to appeal the decision, with the Argentine now facing a retrospective ban.


Everton striker Oumar Niasse was the first player to be caught out by this new rule this season. The Senegalese forward was retrospectively given a two-match ban for his involvement in Everton's first goal in a 2-2 draw against Crystal Palace.

You May Like

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN
Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)