2018 MLS SuperDraft: Picking Order for First Two Rounds

The order for the first two rounds of the 2018 MLS SuperDraft, which will be held on January 19 in Philadelphia.
Publish date:

The 2018 MLS SuperDraft is nearly upon us, with the player combine currently taking place in Orlando, Florida, ahead of the Jan. 19 event in Philadelphia. 

The draft is a four-round event, with the first two taking place as part of the annual national soccer coaches' convention, and the latter two taking place over a conference call two days later.

As an expansion team, Los Angeles FC has the first pick in the draft, followed by the remaining 22 sides in reverse order of how they finished in the 2017 season. Previous trades mean that not every team has a first-round pick, while some clubs have multiple picks in the opening round, such as the Montreal Impact, who are slated to pick fourth and seventh overall, and the New England Revolution, who have the eighth and ninth overall selections.

While there is perhaps less emphasis put on the draft than in previous years, with the increased output by MLS academies and emphasis on spending Targeted Allocation Money on foreign signings, there is still talent to be found. This past season's Rookie of the Year, Atlanta United's Julian Gressel, was the eighth overall selection, while the runner-up, Minnesota United's Abu Danladi, was the first overall pick. Philadelphia Union defender Jack Elliott, third in the voting, was a fourth-round selection. 

The draft field includes seven Generation Adidas players–star underclassmen whose salary will not count against a drafting club's budget until they hit a certain playing time allotment. Those seven players are: Mo Adams (M, Syracuse), Francis Atuahene (F, Michigan), Joao Moutinho (D, Akron), Edward Opoku (F, Virginia), Mason Toye (F, Indiana), Ema Twumasi (M, Wake Forest) and Gordon Wild (F, Maryland).

Here is the order for the 2018 MLS SuperDraft: 


1. Los Angeles FC

2. LA Galaxy

3. D.C. United

4. Montreal Impact (via Colorado Rapids)

5. Minnesota United

6. Orlando City

7. Montreal Impact

8. New England Revolution (via Philadelphia Union)

9. New England Revolution

10. Real Salt Lake

11. FC Dallas

12. San Jose Earthquakes

13. Sporting Kansas City

14. Atlanta United

15. Chicago Fire

16. New York Red Bulls

17. Vancouver Whitecaps

18. Sporting Kansas City (via Portland Timbers)

19. New York City FC

20. Houston Dynamo

21. Columbus Crew

22. Seattle Sounders

23. Toronto FC

Image placeholder title


24. Los Angeles FC

25. Colorado Rapids (via LA Galaxy)

26. Vancouver Whitecaps (via D.C. United)

27. Colorado Rapids 

28. Minnesota United

29. FC Dallas (via Orlando City)

30. San Jose Earthquakes (via Montreal Impact)

31. New York Red Bulls (via Philadelphia Union)

32. Columbus Crew (via New England Revolution)

33. Real Salt Lake

34. FC Dallas

35. San Jose Earthquakes

36. Atlanta United (via Sporting Kansas City)

37. Montreal Impact (via Atlanta United)

38. Chicago Fire

39. New York Red Bulls

40. LA Galaxy (via Vancouver Whitecaps)

41. Minnesota United (via Portland Timbers)

42. New York City FC

43. Houston Dynamo

44. Columbus Crew

45. Seattle Sounders

46. Toronto FC