Skip to main content

Revisiting Spain's 2010 World Cup Victory

Video Duration:

It has been a decade since Spain's magical World Cup win in 2010 but La Roja seems poised for more success. SI's Luis Miguel Echegaray revisitions Spain's World Cup victory from 2010. 

Read the Full Video Transcript:

Luis Miguel Echegaray: In 2010, Spain's men's national team won its first World Cup title on the heels of its Euro 2008 title, La Roja entered South Africa with a perfect qualifying record, making it one of the favorites to win it all. The squad was filled with talent, which included Iker Casillas, Carles Puyol, Xabi Alonso, Xavi, Andres Iniesta and David Villa. But aside from talent and Spain's obsessive philosophy of possession and control manager, he sent a bouquet would say that Spain's fundamental factor was humility and hard work. 


That was also true. Two years after South Africa, when Spain won the euros again. Nowadays, those traits are still a big part of Spain's makeup. But as the modern game evolved to a faster, more physical counter, the ticky tack. A project has needed an update after the 2018 World Cup in Russia. When Spain lost to the host in the round the 16, the update has been fully implemented. 

The U.S. will need lots of help to earn a top seed in FIFA's 2014 World Cup seeding.

Spain qualified for the next European Championships without losing a single game. And it seems that a decade after winning the World Cup, La Roja is ready to write a new chapter in world football. The values, however, remain the same.

Check out SI's Latest Soccer News and Stories:

Key Elements in USWNT vs. U.S. Soccer: 2021 CBA Talks, the Hope Solo Case and More

Women’s Soccer Players Ask for Equal Pay Appeal, Delay of Trial

MLS Forward Yordy Reyna Self-Quarantines After Video Catches Him in Pickup Soccer Game