Texas Rangers Announce 60-Man Player Pool for 2020 Season

Chris Halicke

It looks like "Summer Camp" is the official term the Texas Rangers are going with for the next few weeks. 

The Ranger officially announced their 60-man pool for the 2020 season on Sunday. All 30 clubs had until 3 p.m. CST to submit their rosters to Major League Baseball. The Rangers decided on 55 players for now, giving them flexibility to add players. According to a team source, RHPs Juan Nicasio and Edinson Volquez will be added to the roster in the coming days. 

Nicasio and Volquez are two non-roster invitees from Spring Training. Some others have already been officially added to the roster. Matt Duffy is one notable name that did not make the cut. 

“I absolutely love what I got to know of Matt, what he stands for, and who he is as a person. Everybody felt the same. He trained out in Arizona for a while," Rangers GM Jon Daniels said in a conference call on Sunday. "I think it came down to a little bit with Isiah Kiner-Falefa, a little bit with Andy Ibáñez and a number of others. It just felt like we were covered there."

Daniels said the Rangers informed Duffy a few days ago that he was not going to be added to the club. After allowing him to look around, Duffy had a deal with the New York Yankees, so the Rangers granted him his release.

Here's the full 60-man player pool as of Sunday:


  • Kolby Allard
  • Cody Allen*
  • Wes Benjamin*
  • Jesse Chavez
  • Demarcus Evans
  • Luke Farrell
  • Luis Garcia*
  • Ian Gibaut*
  • Kyle Gibson
  • Nick Goody
  • Taylor Hearn
  • Jimmy Herget*
  • Jonathan Hernandez
  • Wei-Chieh Huang*
  • Ariel Jurado
  • Corey Kluber
  • Derek Law*
  • José Leclerc
  • Jordan Lyles
  • Lance Lynn
  • Brett Martin
  • Mike Minor
  • Rafael Montero
  • Joe Palumbo
  • Tyler Phillips
  • Joely Rodriguez
  • Alex Speas*


  • Robinson Chirinos
  • Nick Ciuffo*
  • Tim Federowicz*
  • Sam Huff*
  • Jeff Mathis
  • Blake Swihart*
  • Jose Trevino


  • Elvis Andrus
  • Sherten Apostel
  • Greg Bird*
  • Todd Frazier
  • Ronald Guzmán
  • Andy Ibáñez*
  • Josh Jung*
  • Isiah Kiner-Falefa
  • Rougned Odor
  • Yadiel Rivera*
  • Anderson Tejeda


  • Willie Calhoun
  • Shin-Soo Choo
  • Joey Gallo
  • Adolis Garcia
  • Scott Heineman
  • Rob Refsnyder*
  • Danny Santana
  • Nick Solak
  • Leody Taveras
  • Eli White*

*Non 40-man roster players

Players will report to camp by July 1. The Rangers first official workout will be Friday, July 3. 

Follow Inside The Rangers on SI on Twitter: @SITexasRangers
Like Inside The Rangers on SI on Facebook: facebook.com/SITexasRangers
Follow our Rangers insider Chris Halicke on Twitter: @ChrisHalicke