Skip to main content

Derrick Henry Passes Earl Campbell For No. 2 on Titans/Oilers All-Time Rushing List

Derrick Henry passed the great Earl Campbell on the Tennessee Titans/Houston Oilers all-time rushing list on Sunday, moving up to No. 2 after gaining 122 yards against the Cincinnati Bengals at Nissan Stadium. Here's a list of the top-20 runners in team history. Next up at No. 1 is Eddie George, who's 1,389 yards ahead of Henry.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Updated Dec. 3, 2023, 4:30 p.m.

NASHVILLE — Tennesee Titans running back Derrick Henry rushed for 122 yards in Sunday's 27-3 victory over the Cincinnati Bengals, and hit a milestone along the way. He now has 8,620 rushing yards, passing the great Earl Campbell for No. 2 on the all time Titans/Houston Oilers rushing list. 

Henry is now 1,389 yards behind franchise leader Eddie George, who finished his career with 10,009 yards. With 13 games left in this regular season, Henry would have to average more than 100 yards per game to catch George during the 2023 season.

"I'm always happy for our players when they have success,'' Titans coach Mike Vrabel said of Henry, a former Alabama great. "We know how important Derrick is to this franchise, and this team and me and everybody else. 

"I told (Ohio State) Buckeye Eddie George that Derrick is coming for him.'' 

Henry said it's a honor to be mentioned among some of the all-time great runners in NFL history. 

“To be mentioned with a name that I’ve heard so long as a kid, it’s a surreal moment for me,” Henry. “I'm thankful, God is good and I’m thankful the people who helped me get there.”

Henry is already the Titans' all-time leader in rushing touchdowns, passing Campbell last season. It took Henry 16 more games than Campbell did to reach the yardage mark, but he also did it in roughly 200 fewer carries.

Here's the top-20 list for all-time rushers in Titans/Oilers history:

Titans/Oilers all-time leading rushers

  1. Eddie George (1996-2003): 10,009 
  2. Derrick Henry (2016-present): 8,620
  3. Earl Campbell (1978-84): 8,574
  4. Chris Johnson (2008-13): 7,965
  5. Lorenzo White (1988-94): 4,079
  6. Hoyle Granger (1966-70, 1972): 3,514 
  7. Steve McNair, QB (1995-2005): 3,439
  8. Mike Rozier (1985-90): 3,426
  9. Charles Tolar (1960-66): 3,277
  10. Ronnie Coleman (1974-81): 2,769 
  11. Chris Brown (2003-07): 2,757
  12. LenDale White (2006-09): 2,349 
  13. Allen Pinkett (1986-91): 2,324
  14. Gary Brown (1991-95): 2,115
  15. Fred Willis (1972-76): 2,114
  16. Billy Cannon (1960-63): 2,111 
  17. DeMarco Murray (2016-17): 1,946 
  18. Rodney Thomas (1995-2000): 1,847
  19. Rob Carpenter (1977-81) 1,788
  20. Larry Moriarty (1983-86): 1,624