MLB Announces Silver Slugger Award Winners

Thursday November 3rd, 2011

Major League Baseball announced the Silver Slugger Award winners on Wednesday night. The award is given to best offensive players at each position and is voted on by coaches and managers from both leagues.

American League

First base: Adrian Gonzalez, Red Sox

Second base: Robinson Cano, Yankees

Third base: Adrian Beltre, Rangers

Shortstop: Asdrubal Cabrera, Indians

Catcher: Alex Avila, Tigers

Outfield: Curtis Granderson, Yankees

Outfield: Jose Bautista, Blue Jays

Outfield: Jacoby Ellsbury, Red Sox

Designated Hitter: David Ortiz, Red Sox

National League

First base: Prince Fielder, Brewers

Second base: Brandon Phillips, Reds

Third base: Aramis Ramirez, Cubs

Shortstop: Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies

Catcher: Brian McCann, Braves

Outfield: Matt Kemp, Dodgers

Outfield: Justin Upton, Diamondbacks

Outfield: Ryan Braun, Brewers

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.