Big East Adds Boise State, Houston, UCF, SMU, And San Diego State

Tuesday December 6th, 2011

The Big East will reportedly add Boise State, San Diego State,  University of Central Florida, the University of Houston and Southern Methodist University in 2013, according to a Brett McMurphy of CBS Sports.  

According to CBS Sports, Boise State and San Diego State will join the conference as "football only" teams, while the other schools will become full members of the conference. An official announcement on the additions is supposed to come Wednesday.

The move by the Big East is designed to solidify its stake as a major conference in college football. Due to recent departures, some had speculated that the Big East could potentially lose its automatic BCS bid. The conference had been rumored to be interested in adding a myriad of different schools of recent weeks, and even at one point had reportedly discussed the idea of joining with the Mountain West and Conference USA to form a 28-team "mega-conference."

Over the last several months the conference has lost Syracuse, Pittsburgh, TCU and most recently West Virginia. As a result, the Big East’s football league was depleted to just Connecticut, Rutgers, USF, Cincinnati, and Louisville.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.