Heisman Trophy Finalists Announced

Tuesday December 6th, 2011

The five finalists for the Heisman trophy were announced on Monday night:

Montee Ball, RB, Wisconsin

Robert Griffin III, QB, Baylor

Andrew Luck, QB, Stanford

Tyrann Mathieu, CB/RS, LSU

Trent Richardson, RB, Alabama

Ball has rushed for 1759 yards and 32 touchdowns this season for #10 Wisconsin. Griffin III has led #17 Baylor to a 9-3 record and has thrown for 3998 yards and 36 touchdowns and has rushed for 644 yards and nine touchdowns. Luck has thrown for 3170 yards and 35 touchdowns for #4 Stanford after returning for his senior season. Mathieu leads #1 LSU in tackles (70), has six forced fumbles, two interceptions and two punt returns for touchdowns. Richardson has rushed for 1583 yards and 20 touchdowns this season for #2 Alabama. The winner will be announced Saturday night at the Best Buy Theater in New York City's Times Square on ESPN.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.