Bengals coach Marvin Lewis: Replacement ref didn't know rule

icon
Friday August 24th, 2012

Packers tight end Tom Crabtree left a preseason game against the Bengals on Thursday after being injured on a hit by Cincinnati safety Taylor Mays.

Mays was penalized on the play, but even Crabtree said the call was incorrect. Cincinnati Bengals coach Marvin Lewis said the replacement official who made the call didn't understand the "defenseless receiver" rule, reports Bengals.com's Geoff Hobson.

“(The replacement refs) are getting better,” Lewis said. “Hopefully, it will get closer and closer to what we need. His understanding was that the player was a defenseless receiver.

"He was, but you are allowed to hit a defenseless receiver shoulder-to-shoulder. There is no such thing as a defenseless player unless he is hit in the head with your head. It was a misinterpretation of the rule. I know they are working hard. The league is working hard to get this stuff corrected. They are working overtime on it actually. It’ll get better and better.”

expects the replacement referees to start the regular season
SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.