Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine among newcomers on Hall of Fame ballot announced Tuesday

Tuesday November 26th, 2013

The results will be announced in January and the ceremony will take place in July. (Associated Press) The results will be announced in January and the ceremony will take place in July. (Associated Press)

Eighteen-time Gold Glove winner Greg Maddux, 10-time All-Star Tom Glavine and 4-time Silver Slugger Frank Thomas are among the 19 newcomers named on the Baseball Hall of Fame ballot announced Tuesday.

Other names on the ballot for the first time include Mike Mussina, Hideo Nomo, Kenny Rogers, Jeff Kent, Moises Alou and Luis Gonzalez. The Hall of Fame announced on Tuesday that the 36-player ballot  also includes Armando Benitez, Sean Casey, Ray Durham, Eric Gagne, Jacque Jones, Todd Jones, Paul Lo Duca, Richie Sexson, J.T. Snow and Mike Timlin. The entire list can be seen here, on the site for the Baseball Writers' Association of America (BWAA)

JAFFE: JAWS and the 2014 Hall of Fame ballot Part I: Introduction

The list also includes such controversial figures as Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Mark McGwire and Sammy Sosa —whose reputations were tainted by their ties to steroid allegations and charges.

The players will be chosen for induction by the BWAA, and the results will be announced on Jan. 8, with inductions scheduled for July 24 at the home of the baseball Hall of Fame, Cooperstown, N.Y. Last year, the Hall of Fame failed for the first time since 1996 to induct any nominees.

SI WIRE: Alex Rodriguez’s lawyers accuse Bud Selig of cowardice in revised lawsuit
SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.