The goal, however, did not count as VAR

By Emily Caron
July 06, 2019

Ellen White took a page out of Alex Morgan's book–copying the USWNT star's tea time celebration during England's third-place clash with Sweden on Saturday.

White sipped her imaginary tea after scoring a goal that would have brought the game to 2–2 but was ruled out after VAR intervened and the official called a handball. The score would have marked White's seventh goal of the Women's World Cup, bringing her one goal ahead of Morgan in the battle for the golden boot. But as it stands, both are tied at six.  

Morgan's celebration occurred when the U.S. beat England in the semifinals, sending the Lionesses to Saturday's consolation game. 

Tea, crumpets and a little shade, anyone?

You May Like

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN
Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)