Frazier, Cano, Stanton headline Home Run Derby field

Thursday July 7th, 2016

Your teams. Your favorite writers. Wherever you want them. Personalize SI with our new App. Install on iOS or Android.​

Major League Baseball announced the field for the 2016 Home Run Derby on Thursday night, seeding Orioles slugger Mark Trumbo No. 1, ahead of defending champion Todd Frazier at No. 2.

Three notable selections are Reds outfielder Adam Duvall, Padres first baseman Wil Myers and Dodgers shortstop Corey Seager. Duvall has come out of nowhere to hit 22 home runs this season, while Myers, 25, has finally found his groove in San Diego and will hit in front of his home fans. Seager, one of baseball’s top prospects entering the year, is just 22 and tied for 15th in the National League in home runs, but got the nod.

Here’s how the seeding shakes out:

1. Mark Trumbo
2. Todd Frazier
3. Adam Duvall
4. Robinson Cano
5. Giancarlo Stanton
6. Wil Myers
7. Carlos Gonzalez
8. Corey Seager

​The contest will be elimination style. Here is the current bracket:

The derby will take place on Monday at 8 p.m. ET in San Diego.

– Kenny Ducey

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.