Skip to main content

Lamar Jackson Named Ravens 2020 MVP by PFWA, Local Media

Baltimore QB is reigning NFL MVP.

OWINGS MILLS, Md. — Quarterback Lamar Jackson was voted as the Ravens Most Valuable Player for the 2020 season by the local media and the Baltimore chapter of the Pro Football Writers Association. 

Jackson, the reigning NFL MVP, was voted team MVP for the second straight year and is the first Ravens player to win in back-to-back seasons since Ray Rice (2011 and 2012).

"You know I always tell you guys; I feel like that’s a team award," Jackson said. "We’ve been through so much adversity this year. We hit humps and stuff like that, but our guys just find a way to pull through and keep fighting, especially for this playoff run. We have a great opponent in front of us this Sunday. Hats off to our whole team, because it’s a team award to me, to be honest.”

Cornerback Marlon Humphrey finished second in the voting while offensive tackle Orlando Brown Jr. and kicker Justin Tucker finished tied for third.

Scroll to Continue

Read More

Entering the regular-season finale Week 17 against the Bengals, Jackson has thrown 2,644 yards with 23 touchdowns and eight interceptions (99.0 rating.) Jackson also leads the Ravens with 908 yards rushing on 148 carries and seven scores.

Over the Ravens recent four-game winning streak, Jackson has thrown for 696 yards with eight touchdowns and two interceptions (111.7 rating). He has also run for 333 yards with another four scores. 

Below is the list of past Ravens MVP winners dating back to the award’s introduction in 2003:

2003: Jamal Lewis
2004: Ed Reed
2005: Adalius Thomas
2006: Steve McNair
2007: Willis McGahee
2008: Ed Reed
2009: Ray Rice
2010: Haloti Ngata
2011: Ray Rice
2012: Ray Rice
2013: Justin Tucker
2014: Justin Forsett
2015: Marshal Yanda
2016: Justin Tucker
2017: Terrell Suggs
2018: Marlon Humphrey
2019: Lamar Jackson 

2020: Lamar Jackson