Ravens' Wolfpack — Tucker, Koch, Cox — as sharp as ever

Trio has experience to overcome lack of offseason workouts

OWINGS MILLS, Md. — The Ravens so-called Wolfpack — kicker Justin Tucker, punter Sam Koch and long-snapper Morgan Cox — didn't have any rust when they arrived at training camp.

Teams were not able to host offseason workouts because of the COVID-19 pandemic, 

That challenge didn't affect Tucker, Koch and Cox, three of the team's most seasoned veterans. 

“It’s funny, we kind of picked up right where we left off as a unit," Tucker said. "Having that continuity between the three of us for the last, going on nine seasons, is certainly an advantage for us. So, again, as soon as we were allowed to – per local and state regulations – we got back on the field together. Morgan’s throwing 12 o’clock laces, Sam’s spotting them exactly how I like them and the ball pretty much kicks itself."

Tucker is the most accurate kicker in NFL history at 90.8%, connecting on 265 of 292 field-goal attempts. His 11-career AFC Special Teams Player of the Week awards are the most in franchise history. 

Tucker is also a seven-time AFC Special Teams Player of the Month honoree — the most ever by an NFL special teams player. He is the first kicker in NFL history to produce six seasons with 30-plus field goals made (2012-13, 2015-18). 

"I’m basically a system guy. You can come plug and play at this point. But having those two guys at the start of our operation makes my job so much easier, and I’m very thankful that I get to continue working with those guys.”

The Ravens signed Koch to a two-year extension in March. Koch, 37, owns franchise records with 1,046 punts for 47,451 yards and a 45.4 career gross average. His 39.5 career net average also ranks first in team history.

Last season, Koch punted 40 times for a 46.4 gross average and a 39.8 net average, placing 21 punts inside the 20. He was eligible for free agency next offseason.

Cox has been steadily consistent. He is a three-time Pro Bowler and earned the team’s Ed Block Courage Award in 2011 after returning from an ACL injury suffered in 2010.