By Chris Mascaro
May 17, 2014

Preakness Stakes champion California Chrome can join list at Belmont Stakes The only thing standing between California Chrome and the Triple Crown is the 1.5-mile Belmont Stakes. (Bill Frakes/SI)

Now that California Chrome has won the Preakness Stakes, he has a chance to become the 12th Triple Crown winner three weeks from now in the 146th running of the Belmont Stakes.

The last horse to win the Triple Crown was Affirmed in 1978. The 36-year gap is the longest in Triple Crown history.

There have been 12 horses since then to win the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes only to fail at the Belmont. The last was I'll Have Another in 2012, who was pulled out of the race one day early due to a tendon injury. Big Brown did not finish the Belmont in 2008 after pulling up early in the race.

California Chrome's jockey, Victor Espinoza, won the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes aboard War Emblem in 2002, but the colt finished eighth at the Belmont after an early stumble.

Triple Crown winners

1919: Sir Barton

1930: Gallant Fox

1935: Omaha

1937: War Admiral

1941: Whirlaway

1943: Count Fleet

1946: Assault

1948: Citation

1973: Secretariat

1977: Seattle Slew
1978: Affirmed

You May Like