California Chrome fails to complete Triple Crown, finishes tied for fourth

Saturday June 7th, 2014

California Chrome was denied the Triple Crown by Tonalist. (Rob Carr/Getty Images) California Chrome was denied the Triple Crown on Saturday by Tonalist. (Rob Carr/Getty Images)

California Chrome finished in a tie for fourth place in the 146th running of the Belmont Stakes on Saturday, becoming the 13th horse to win the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes only to come up short at Belmont since Affirmed won the Triple Crown in 1978.

The gap between Triple Crowns, which is going on 37 years, is the longest in the history of the event.

PHOTO GALLERY: Triple Crown winners; SI's best photos from the Belmont

Before Chrome, the last horse to win the first two legs of the Triple Crown was I’ll Have Another in 2012, who was pulled out of the race one day early due to a tendon injury. In 2008, Big Brown did not finish the Belmont after pulling up early in the race.

California Chrome’s jockey, Victor Espinoza, won the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes aboard War Emblem in 2002, but the colt finished eighth at the Belmont after an early stumble.

Horses to win first two legs of Triple Crown since 1978 (finish at Belmont):

1979: Spectacular Bid (third)

1981: Pleasant Colony (third)

1987: Alysheba (fourth)

1989: Sunday Silence (second)

1997: Silver Charm (second)

1998: Real Quiet (second)

1999: Charismatic (third)

2002: War Emblem (eighth)

2003: Funny Cide (third)

2004: Smarty Jones (second)

2008: Big Brown (DNF)

2012: I'll Have Another (DNS)

2014: California Chrome (t-fourth)

Triple Crown winners (jockey)

1919: Sir Barton (Johnny Loftus)

1930: Gallant Fox (Earl Sande)

1935: Omaha (Willie Saunders)

1937: War Admiral (Charley Kurtsinger)

1941: Whirlaway (Eddie Arcaro)

1943: Count Fleet (Johnny Longden)

1946: Assault (Warren Mehrtens)

1948: Citation (Eddie Arcaro)

1973: Secretariat (Ron Turcotte)

1977: Seattle Slew (Jean Cruguet)

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.