Spence Jr. declared winner after AIBA overturns controversial ruling - Sports Illustrated

Spence Jr. declared winner after AIBA overturns controversial ruling

Publish date:

The U.S. men still have a shot at a medal after the AIBA's decision to overturn Errol Spence Jr.'s defeat. (John Biever/SI)

Errol Spence Jr.

LONDON -- The United States men’s boxing team still has hope for an Olympic medal after all. After reviewing the welterweight fight between Errol Spence Jr. and India’s Krishan Vikas, the International Boxing Association (AIBA) has overturned the decision and declared Spence the winner, advancing him to the final eight.

The AIBA decision reads as follows:

There were a total of nine (9) holding fouls committed by the Indian boxer in the third round alone. However the Referee only gave one caution;

In the second round, at the time 02:38, the boxer from India spitted out his gum shield intentionally. However the Referee didn't give any warning.

Based on these findings, the Competition Jury Members unanimously decided the following:

Decision #1: Based on the AIBA Technical & Competition Rules 12.1.9, the Referee should have given at least two (2) warnings to the Indian boxer;

Decision #2: Although the boxer from India intentionally spitted out his gumshield, the Referee's view was blocked by the boxer from the USA and was not able to see the action;

Final Decision: Based on Decision #1, at least four (4) points should have been awarded to the boxer from the USA. Therefore the final score should be 13:15 in favour of the USA. The protest is accepted and the winner of Bout #142 is Errol Spence (USA).

The decision salvaged an otherwise difficult day for USA Boxing. Flyweight Rau’shee Warren, a medal favorite coming in, lost a narrow decision to France’s Nordine Oubaali.

Spence was understandably happy with the AIBA’s decision.

“I am obviously thrilled that the competition jury overturned my decision and I can continue chasing the gold medal I came here to win,” Spence said. “I am going to make the most of this second chance that I’ve been given. I can’t wait to get back in that ring on Tuesday.”

-- Chris Mannix