RB Derrick Henry, QB Deshaun Watson headline CFB award winners

1:02 | College Football
Derrick Henry, Deshaun Watson headline CFB award winners
Friday December 11th, 2015

Alabama running back Derrick Henry walked away as the big winner of the college football awards season, claiming the Walter Camp and Maxwell Awards, two of the three player of the year honors along with the Heisman Trophy. It was no surprise that Henry also claimed the Doak Walker Award, given to best running back, beating out LSU’s Leonard Fournette and Standford’s Christian McCaffrey.

Henry, a Heisman finalist, finished the regular season as the FBS’ leading rusher, carrying the ball 339 times for 1,986 yards and 23 touchdowns.

Fellow Heisman finalist Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson took home the Davey O’Brien Award, given to the best quarterback. The sophomore led the Tigers into the College Football Playoff in his first season as the full-time starter, throwing for 3,512 yards, 30 touchdowns and 11 interceptions. 

Temple linebacker Tyler Matakevich earned both the Chuck Bednarik Award and the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, the two defensive player of the year honors. The senior recorded 126 tackles and five interceptions this season. 

Award Winners

Maxwell Award (player of the year):

RB Derrick Henry, Alabama

Walter Camp Award (player of the year):

RB Derrick Henry, Alabama

Davey O’Brien Award (best quarterback):

QB Deshaun Watson, Clemson

Chuck Bednarik Award (defensive player of the year):

LB Tyler Matakevich, Temple

Doak Walker Award (best running back):

RB Derrick Henry, Alabama

Bletnikoff Award (best wide receiver):

WR, Corey Coleman, Baylor

Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back):

CB Desmond King, Iowa

Outland Trophy (best interior lineman):

OG Joshua Garnett, Stanford

Lou Groza Award (best kicker):

K Ka’imi Fairbairn, UCLA

Ray Guy Award (best punter):

P Tom Hackett, Utah

Rimington Trophy (best center):

C Ryan Kelly, Alabama

John Mackey Award (best tight end):

TE Hunter Henry, Arkansas

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (defensive player of the year):

LB Tyler Matakevich, Temple

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.