Sri Lanka pick Herath in WT20 squad after 2 years

Publish date:

COLOMBO, Sri Lanka (AP) Star spin bowler Rangana Herath returns to the shortest format of cricket after two years as Sri Lanka chose a mix of experience and youth for its 15-member squad for the World Twenty20 starting next month.

Herath hadn't played in a Twenty20 international since the final of the last edition of World T20 in 2014. Sri Lanka won the title, defeating India in the final.

The squad announced Thursday also includes captain Lasith Malinga and his deputy Angelo Mathews, who because of injuries missed a three-match series against India that ended this week.

It also features experienced batsmen Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dinesh Chandimal, Chamara Kapugedera and allrounders Thisara Perera and Sachithra Senanayake.

Wicketkeeper batsman Niroshan Dickwella, batsmen Shehan Jayasuriya, Milinda Siriwardana, Dasun Shanaka, fast bowler Dushmantha Chameera and leg spinner Jeffrey Vandersay are relatively inexperienced and play in their first major tournament of their careers.

The tournament begins in India on March 8.

The squad: Lasith Malinga (Captain), Angelo Mathews (Vice Captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Niroshan Dickwella, Shehan Jayasuriya, Milinda Siriwardana, Dasun Shanaka, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dushmantha Chameera, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath and Jeffrey Vandersay.