Paul Konerko, Jimmy Rollins co-winners of Roberto Clemente Award

Friday October 24th, 2014

Retired Chicago White Sox first baseman Paul Konerko and Philadelphia Phillies shortstop Jimmy Rollins have been named co-winners of the 2014 Roberto Clemente Award, MLB announced before Game 3 of the World Series. 

This is the first year in the history of the Roberto Clemente Award that there are co-winners. 

The award is given to the player who "best exemplifies the game of baseball, sportsmanship, community involvement and the individual's contribution to his team" and is voted on by fans and media. Each year, every team gets one nominee, for a total of 30. 

JAFFE: World Series Game 3 preview

Konerko announced before the season that this year would be his last, after 18 years in the majors. White Sox chairman Jerry Reinsdorf has said Konerko's No. 14 will be retired by the team.

The Roberto Clemente Award has been given out since 1971, and was originally known as the Commissioner's Award. It honors Hall of Fame outfielder Roberto Clemente, who died in a plane crash in 1972.

Konerko is the first White Sox player to receive the award, while Rollins is the third Phillies player, joining Greg Luzinski and Garry Maddox. 

- Molly Geary

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.