Kris Bryant, Carlos Correa named 2015 Rookies of the Year

1:06 | MLB
Kris Bryant, Carlos Correa win MLB Rookie of the Year awards
Monday November 16th, 2015

Chicago Cubs third baseman Kris Bryant and Houston Astros shortstop Carlos Correa have been named the 2015 Rookies of the Year, Major League Baseball announced on Monday.

Bryant helped lead the Cubs to the NLCS in his rookie season, hitting .275 in 151 games for the Cubs, with 26 home runs and 99 RBIs. He posted a .488 OPS and had a Wins Above Replacement mark of 5.9, according to Baseball Reference.

In the National League, Bryant was a unanimous winner, picking up all 30 first-place votes. He beat out Giants third baseman Matt Duffy, who had 22 second-place votes, and Pirates infielder Jung Ho Kang, who finished third with 4 second-place votes. 

Correa, the No. 1 pick in the 2012 draft, hit .279 in 99 games in 2015, with 22 home runs and 68 RBIs. He also posted a 132 OPS+, and stole 14 bases. He picked up 17 first-place votes to beat out Cleveland's Francisco Lindor, who had 13. He’s the second rookie winner in Astros history, joining Jeff Bagwell in 1991.

- Kenny Ducey

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.