When does the World Series start?

Monday October 17th, 2016

The 2016 World Series will begin next week when the winner of the American League takes on the winner of the National League. 

After the Indians won the ALCS on Wednesday, three teams remain in contention to win the World Series: the Indians, Cubs and Dodgers. Either the Dodgers or Cubs will represent the NL in the World Series, while either the Tribe will represent the AL. 

Chicago is looking to win its first World Series since 1908. 

The World Series is set to begin on Tuesday, Oct. 25. Whichever club represents the American League will hold home–field advantage, as the AL won the All–Star Game in July. 

See a complete World Series schedule below. FOX will televise every game. 

SI.com's Cubs hub

2016 World Series Schedule

Game 1 (Oct. 25, 8 p.m. ET): NL champion at Indians

Game 2 (Oct. 26, 8 p.m. ET): NL champion at Indians

Game 3 (Oct. 28, 8 p.m. ET): Indians at NL champion

Game 4 (Oct. 29, 8 p.m. ET): Indians at NL champion 

Game 5* (Oct. 30, 8 p.m. ET): Indians at NL champion

Game 6* (Nov. 1, 8 p.m. ET): NL champion at Indians 

Game 7* (Nov. 2, 8 p.m. ET): NL champion at Indians

* If necessary

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.