Tale of the tape: Pitting the Cubs’ title drought against the Indians’

One franchise will snap a long title drought this October.
Publish date:

The Chicago Cubs and Cleveland Indians have been waiting awhile for a title. This October, one of them will snap their long drought.

Chicago’s time without a championship tops Cleveland’s by a whopping 40 years, though both teams have undergone their fair share of ups, downs, and rebuilds in the interim. The Cubs have been to the World Series a total of seven times, coming up empty each time, while the Indians have been there three times.

The two sides have used a total of 84 managers and made it to the postseason 25 times. Here’s a look at life for each team since their droughts began.

Years since last title

Cubs: 108 years (1908)
Indians: 68 years (1948)

World Series appearances

Cubs: 7 (1910, 1918, 1929, 1932, 1935, 1938, 1945)
Indians: 3 (1954, 1995, 1997)

Playoff appearances (including 2016)

Cubs: 15
Indians: 10

Number of managers (including interim managers)

Cubs: 53
Indians: 30

Sports Illustrated covers

Cubs: 25
Indians: 12

(View them all here)

City titles

Chicago: 15 (Bulls 6x, Blackhawks 6x, White Sox 2x, Bears 1x)
Cleveland6 (Browns 5x, Cavaliers 1x)

Ballparks played at

Cubs: 2 (West Side Grounds, Wrigley Field)
Indians: 2 (Cleveland Stadium, Jacobs/Progressive Field)


Cubs: 1
Indians: 0