World Series Game 7 stats, facts to watch for

Stats and facts to watch ahead of World Series Game 7.
Publish date:

The Chicago Cubs and the Cleveland Indians face off in Game 7 of the 2016 World Series on Wednesday night.

The Cubs are looking to win their first World Series since 1908 as the Indians look to end their own drought that dates back to 1948.

Chicago will send Cy Young candidate Kyle Hendricks to the mound after a season in which he led the Major Leagues with a 2.13 ERA and finished the year 16–8.

The Indians counter by sending 2014 Cy Young award winner Corey Kluber to the hill. He is 4–1 this postseason.

Here are a few interesting stats and facts to keep in mind before the game:

• It has been 24,859 days since the Cleveland Indians won the 1948 World Series.

• It has been 39,466 days since the Chicago Cubs won the 1908 World Series.

• The Cubs are 2–3 in deciding games in the postseason.

• The Indians are 1–5 in deciding games in the postseason.

• Both teams are 0–7 in World Series winner-take-all games.

• Kyle Hendricks is one of four players to lead the Major Leagues in ERA and start Game 7 of the World Series. The others are Bob Gibson in 1968, Sandy Koufax in 1965 and Hal Newhouser in 1945. (via Christopher Kamka of Comcast SportsNet)

History, title in the balance in Game 7 that will be unlike any ever played

• Hendricks has a 1.47 ERA with Wilson Contreras as his catcher. (via Kamka)

• Corey Kluber could become the 10th pitcher in World Series history to win three starts in one year. (via Baseball Reference)

• The first World Series Game 7 took place in 1903 between the Boston Americans and Pittsburgh Pirates. The Americans won 7–3.

• 10 World Series Game 7's have ended in a flyout.

• There have been five walk-offs in Game 7 of the World Series. The most recent was by the Arizona Diamondbacks in 2001 against the New York Yankees.

• The most recent World Series Game 7 took place in 2014 between the San Francisco Giants and the Kansas City Royals. The Giants won 3–2.

• Nine of the last 10 teams to host Game 7 of the World Series have won the series. The most recent was the lone loss by the 2014 Kansas City Royals.

• The only team to win Game 7 of the World Series and not win the series was the 1919 Chicago White Sox, who played in a best-of-nine series. (via Dan Hirsh)