Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images

President Obama will award 21 Presidential Medals of Freedom to stars like Vin Scully and Michael Jordan.

By SI Wire
November 16, 2016

The White House will award 21 new Presidential Medal of Freedom recipients on November 22. Among the notable winners are Los Angeles Dodgers announcer Vin Scully as well as NBA Hall of Famers Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Michael Jordan.

The award is the United States' highest civilian honor and is presented to individuals who have made several meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the U.S. and world peace.

“The Presidential Medal of Freedom is not just our nation's highest civilian honor - it's a tribute to the idea that all of us, no matter where we come from, have the opportunity to change this country for the better,”  President Barack Obama said in a White House press release. “From scientists, philanthropists, and public servants to activists, athletes, and artists, these 21 individuals have helped push America forward, inspiring millions of people around the world along the way.”

MJ, Space Jam And A Pop Culture Icon

Fellow celebrities that will be honored include Ellen DeGeneres, Robert DeNiro, Bill and Melinda Gates, Tom Hanks, Maya Lin, Lorne Michaels, Robert Redford, Diana Ross, Bruce Springsteen and Cicely Tyson.

You May Like