MLB Fans Couldn’t Believe Umps Called This a Catch by Rays Shortstop

This didn't seem like the right call.

Baseball is back, which means bad calls by umpires are also back.

That was on display in Wednesday's Texas Rangers-Tampa Bay Rays game in Tampa when a very questionable call had fans wondering what the umpires were thinking.

In case you missed it, Rangers catcher Jonah Heim hit a laser to short in the top of ninth inning that Jose Caballero got his glove on. The umpires ruled he caught the ball, even though it quickly came out of his glove, and lost it on the transfer while trying to throw it to second base.

That seemed to be a very generious ruling by the umpires:

Fans couldn't believe it:

Not great.


Published |Modified
Andy Nesbitt

ANDY NESBITT

Andy Nesbitt is the Assistant Managing Editor of Audience Engagement at Sports Illustrated. He works closely with the Breaking & Trending News Team to shape SI’s daily coverage across all sports. He has been working in sports media for over 20 years, appearing on Fox Sports, For the Win, The Boston Globe, and NBC Sports. He’s a golf fanatic who desperately wants to see the Super Bowl played on a Saturday night.