Lemi Berhanu Hayle, Atsede Baysa winners of 2016 Boston Marathon

Lemi Berhanu Hayle and Atsede Baysa won the 2016 Boston Marathon.
Publish date:

Get breaking news and SI’s biggest stories instantly. Download the new Sports Illustrated app (iOS or Android) and personalize your experience by following your favorite teams and SI writers.

Lemi Berhanu Hayle and Atsede Baysa are the winners of the 2016 Boston Marathon.

Hayle, of Ethiopa, became the men’s champion with an unofficial time of two hours, 12 minutes and 44 seconds. Baysa, also from Ethiopa, became the women’s champion with an unofficial time of two hours, 29 minutes and 29 seconds.

Monday’s race was the first time Ethiopians swept the Boston Marathon.

Baysa’s win is the first in five years for a non-Kenyan woman. Baysa was trailing the race during the final five miles, but ended up beating second-place finisher Ethiopian Tirfi Tsegaye by 43 seconds.

Hayle also made a late comeback, beating Ethiopian Lelisa Desisa by a minute. 

Nearly 30,000 runners took part in the race.