Michael Irvin, Cris Carter to serve as Pro Bowl captains

Wednesday July 30th, 2014

Hall of Fame wide receivers Cris Carter and Michael Irvin will be the captains for the Pro Bowl next season, the NFL announced Wednesday.

Last year, the Pro Bowl switched to a new format that involved captains picking their teams, instead of the traditional AFC vs. NFC matchup. The captains for the 2014 game were Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders. 

This season's Pro Bowl will be the first played in Arizona, with the league choosing to play at the site of Super Bowl XLIX instead of the traditional location in Hawaii. It will mark the third time the two events have been hosted in the same city: The 1967 games were held in Los Angeles, and the 2010 games were in Miami. 

More: A taboo breakthrough for battling injuries

Carter played 15 NFL seasons, 12 with the Minnesota Vikings, and caught 1,101 passes for 13,899 yards and 130 touchdowns. Irvin played his entire 12-year career with the Dallas Cowboys, catching 750 passes for 11,904 yards and 65 TDs. 

The 2015 Pro Bowl will be played on Jan. 25 at University of Phoenix Stadium. -- Alex Hampl

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.