Patriots defeat Ravens despite record-low rushing total

Sunday January 11th, 2015

The New England Patriots defeated the Baltimore Ravens 35-31 in Saturday's AFC Divisional Playoff game despite having only 14 rushing yards, the fewest by a winning team in NFL postseason history.

The Patriots rushed 13 times, with quarterback Tom Brady leading the way with six attempts but zero yards. Running back Brandon Bolden rushed three times for 7 yards, while Shane Vereen had one carry for 6 yards and LeGarrette Blount had three carries for 1 yard.

Watch: Joe Flacco interception ices game for Patriots

The Patriots did not have a lead in the game until Brady's third touchdown pass with 5:13 remaining. That throw made Brady the NFL record-holder in postseason touchdowns; he also set the yardage record earlier in the game.

In Super Bowl XXXIV, the Rams rushed 13 times for 29 yards. Marshall Faulk led the team with 10 carries for 17 yards; he added five receptions for 90 yards as well.

Watch: Julian Edelman trick pass ties Ravens-Patriots

The Rams also set the record two weeks prior on Jan. 16, 2000, when they rushed 17 times for 31 yards in a 49-37 win over the Minnesota Vikings in the NFC Divisional playoffs.

Not surprisingly, the 1999 season was the one that popularized "The Greatest Show on Turf" moniker for the Rams' offense with offensive coordinator Mike Martz, quarterback Kurt Warner, Faulk and receivers Isaac Bruce, Torry Holt and Az-Zahir Hakim.

Mike Fiammetta

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.