Richard Sherman, J.J. Watt headline PFWA All-NFL team

Monday January 12th, 2015

The Professional Football Writers of America announced its All-NFL team on Monday, headlined by three players who are on the team for a third straight season.

Seattle Seahawks cornerback Richard Sherman and safety Earl Thomas are two of those named for a third consecutive year, along with Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt.

On offense, the team is led by quarterback Aaron Rodgers of the Green Bay Packers, who threw for 4,381 yards and 38 touchdowns with  five interceptions while leading Green Bay to its fourth straight NFC North title.

MMQB: Dez controversy puts catch rule in spotlight

DeMarco Murray, the NFL’s leading rusher, occupied one of the running back spots, along with Le’Veon Bell of the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Antonio Brown of Pittsburgh and Dez Bryant of the Dallas Cowboys got the nod at wide receiver, with Rob Gronkowski of the New England Patriots named at tight end.

On offense, only Cleveland Browns tackle Joe Thomas was a repeat selection from last season.

• FARRAR: Offseason questions ahead for this weekend's losers

Defensively, besides Watt, Sherman and Thomas, Lions defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh and Panthers linebacker Luke Kuechly were also named for both 2013 and 2014.

The full PFWA All-NFL team is below:

QB – Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers
RB – Le’Veon Bell, Pittsburgh Steelers; DeMarco Murray, Dallas Cowboys
WR – Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh Steelers; Dez Bryant, Dallas Cowboys
TE – Rob Gronkowski, New England Patriots
C – Travis Frederick, Dallas Cowboys
G – Josh Sitton, Green Bay Packers; Marshal Yanda, Baltimore Ravens
T – Tyron Smith, Dallas Cowboys; Joe Thomas, Cleveland Browns

DE – Mario Williams, Buffalo Bills; J.J. Watt, Houston Texans#
DT – Marcell Dareus, Buffalo Bills; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit Lions*
OLB – Justin Houston, Kansas City Chiefs; Von Miller, Denver Broncos
MLB – Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers
CB – Darrelle Revis, New England Patriots; Richard Sherman, Seattle Seahawks
S –Earl Thomas, Seattle Seahawks: Eric Weddle, San Diego Chargers

Special Teams
PK – Adam Vinatieri, Indianapolis Colts
P – Pat McAfee, Indianapolis Colts
KR – Adam Jones, Cincinnati Bengals
PR – Darren Sproles, Philadelphia Eagles
ST – Matthew Slater, New England Patriots

- Phil Watson

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.