Leon Halip/Getty Images

Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers was named the NFL's Most Valuable Player by the Pro Football Writers of America

By SI Wire
January 14, 2015

Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers was named the NFL's Most Valuable Player by the Pro Football Writers of America, the organization announced Wednesday.

Rodgers also won the award in 2011 and is the seventh player to win two or more MVP awards from the PFWA. The Associated Press will name its Most Valuable Player during the NFL Honors award show on Jan. 31, the day before the Super Bowl. 

The PFWA also named Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt as its defensive player of the year and Dallas Cowboys running back DeMarco Murray took home offensive player of the year honors.

Two games in London will kick off at 9:30 a.m. ET next season​

Rodgers led the Packers to another NFC North this season and completed 66 percent of his passes for 4,381 yards with 38 touchdowns and only five interceptions. His 112.2 passer rating was second in the NFL after Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo.

Watt had 78 total tackles, 20.5 sacks, forced four fumbles and also returned an interception for a score. Watt led the NFL in tackles for loss, fumble recoveries and quarterback hits. He also had three receiving touchdowns.

Murray led the Cowboys ground attack, leading the NFL with 1,845 yards, scoring 13 times to earn All-Pro honors.

- Scooby Axson

You May Like