DeMaurice Smith re-elected as executive director of the NFLPA

DeMaurice Smith retained his position as executive director of the NFL players' union in voting Sunday by 32 player representatives.

It took just one ballot for Smith to gain his third three-year term in charge of the NFL Players Association. He beat eight other candidates by immediately getting a majority of the votes at the union's annual meeting in Kapalua, Hawaii.

Smith won over former NFL players Jason Belser, Sean Gilbert and Robert Griffith. Also on the ballot were James Acho, Arthur McAfee, Rob London, Andrew Smith, and John Stufflebeem.

Smith says he is "proud to represent the best athletes in the world."

Union President Eric Winston said of the result: "We look forward to continue working with DeMaurice Smith to make our union stronger."

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.