David J. Phillip/Associated Press

DeMaurice Smith has been re-elected as executive director of the NFL Players Association.

By SI Wire
March 16, 2015

The NFL Players Association re-elected DeMaurice Smith as its executive director after a vote Sunday by the player representatives for each NFL team.

Smith gained another three-year term in charge of the players union, beating eight other candidates by getting a majority of the votes at the union's annual meeting in Kapalua, Hawaii.

The NFLPA did not release vote totals, but Smith received at least 16 of 31 votes because the Buffalo Bills did not have voting representation at the meeting.

"I am proud to represent the best athletes in the world," Smith said. "There will always be those who will sacrifice their dignity in a race to the bottom so that they can climb over others to get to the top. I will not join them, and no human should."

"As a union, it is your duty to decide who should and will lead," Smith added.

2015 NFL Mock Draft 5.0: Jameis Winston still No. 1 overall to Bucs

"The Board of Player Representatives made a decision today after two comprehensive days of deliberation and careful consideration of all candidates," NFLPA president and Cincinnati Bengals tackle Eric Winston said. "We look forward to continue working with DeMaurice Smith to make our union stronger."

Smith, 51, was first elected as the NFLPA executive director in 2009 and ran unopposed, earning a second term in 2012.

- Scooby Axson

You May Like