Time to redefine NHL 'dynasty' after Chicago's failure to repeat

Monday June 2nd, 2014
Nick Leddy and Blackhawks' bid to win a second successive Stanley Cup ended cruelly in a Game 7.
Robin Alam/Icon SMI/Icon SMI

The mileage that is put on the legs of the game's best players is greater now that they must battle through an 82-game regular season followed by four high-intensity best-of-seven rounds in order to win the championship. Niklas Lidstrom, Detroit's future Hall-of-Fame defenseman, played in 263 playoff games, more than three additional full seasons. Those were high-shift games that often lasted beyond 60 minutes, the kind that take their toll. By way of comparison, the Canadiens of the late '70s were blessed with years where the first round was a best-of-three; the Islanders and Oilers of the '80s, a best-of-five.

Their Drive for Five over, sniper Mike Bossy and the Isles' dynasty gave way to Wayne Gretzky's Oilers.
Bruce Bennett Studios/Getty Images

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.