Four matchups for Euro 2016 qualifying playoff set

Sunday October 18th, 2015

The four matchups for the Euro 2016 qualifying playoff have been set.

Ireland will take on Bosnia-Herzegovina, Ukraine will go head to head with Slovenia, Sweden will face Denmark and Noway will play Hungary for the last four spots in the 2016 UEFA European Championship.

The Euro 2016, hosted by France, will take place from June 10 to July 10 next year. For the first time in the history of the tournament, the field will consist of 24 teams, expanding from 16 in previous years.

20 teams have already qualified for the tournament, including 10 of the 16 that played in the last Euro. Once the field reaches 24 teams, they will be drawn into six groups in December.

Around Europe: Euro 2016 qualifying, Champions League on horizon

Spain is the two-time defending champion.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.