USWNT’s Carli Lloyd, Jill Ellis named finalists for FIFA awards

0:56 | Planet Futbol
Messi, Ronaldo, Neymar named finalists for Ballon d’Or
Monday November 30th, 2015

U.S. women’s national team star Carli Lloyd has been named a finalist for the 2015 Women’s World Player of the Year along with Aya Niyama of Japan and Celia Sasic of Germany.

USWNT coach Jill Ellis is a finalist for Women’s World Coach of the Year beside England’s Mark Sampson and Japan’s Norio Sasaki.

Lloyd scored a hat trick in the World Cup final against Japan to earn herself the tournament’s Golden Ball award. She came second in voting for the Golden Boot behind Sasic.

Messi, Ronaldo, Neymar named finalists for Ballon d’Or

Lloyd was a Women’s World Player of the Year semifinalist in 2012 after the U.S. won a gold medal in the London Olympics, but she has never won the award. A U.S. player has not taken home the award since 2012, when Abby Wambach was voted the winner.

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar were named finalists for the Ballon d’Or, given to the best men’s player of the year.

The winners of the awards, which are voted on by media, coaches and team captains, will be announced on Jan. 11.

- Erin Flynn

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.