Harold Cunningham/Getty Images

FIFA has sanctioned seven countries for their fans’ discriminatory chants during games.

By SI Wire
May 27, 2016

Get breaking news and SI’s biggest stories instantly. Download the new Sports Illustrated app (iOS or Android) and personalize your experience by following your favorite teams and SI writers.

FIFA has sanctioned seven countries’ football associations due to discriminatory and “unsporting” chants by their fans during World Cup qualifying matches and international friendlies, FIFA announced Friday.

Chile, Paraguay, Peru, Mexico, El Salvador, Honduras and Croatia were the countries disciplined for the chants.

Chile will be banned from playing at its home stadium in Santiago for two matches and was also fined. Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, El Salvador and Honduras were all fined various amounts for the chants, ranging from 15,000 to 40,000 Swiss francs (which is about equal to the dollar), which were discriminatory in nature, and in some instances homophobic. Croatia was fined and will also have to play its next two matches without spectators.

LYTTLETON: Ranking the world’s top 10 club managers

The sanctions were made after evidence was gathered by FIFA’s Anti-Discrimination Monitoring System.

You May Like