Marcos Ruiz/LatinContent/Getty Images

CONMEBOL has officially named Chapecoense the 2016 Copa Sudamericana champions. 

By SI Wire
December 05, 2016

CONMEBOL has officially named Chapecoense the 2016 Copa Sudamericana champions on Monday, officials announced.

The title was awarded to the Brazilian team after last week's tragic plane crash in Colombia killed 71 people including 19 players as the team traveled for the Copa final.

Atletico Nacional has been awarded a fair play title. The Colombian team pushed for Chapecoense to posthumously win the award after the fatal crash killed almost all the players.

Chapecoense will receive the winner's prize money with the title. In a twist of fate, Chapecoense could play Atletico Nacional in the Recopa Sudamericana next year–the meeting between the reigning Copa Libertadores and Copa Sudamericana winners. Atletico Nacional won the 2016 Copa Libertadores title. 

Chapecoense crash victims honored ahead of burial

“Right now we are beginning to rebuild the team. People want football, people love football in Chapeco.” Chapeoense interim president Ivan Tozzo told Globo. “Therefore, we must continue this. Let's talk and do well, let the dust settle and rebuild the team for next year.”

You May Like