Report: Former Big East schools to rebrand as American Athletic Conference

Wednesday April 3rd, 2013

The conference formerly known as the Big East will adopt American Athletic Conference as its new name, according to Brett McMurphy of ESPN.

The remaining lineup of former Big East schools consisting of Cincinnati, Connecticut, Louisville, Rutgers and South Florida, plus new additions Central Florida, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, SMU, Temple and Tulane, reportedly needed to finalize a new name before May 2.

The schools reportedly to be bundled as the American Athletic Conference gave the rights to the Big East name to the new basketball only alignment of DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, Seton Hall, St. John's, Villanova, Butler, Creighton and Xavier.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.