By Brian Kotloff
April 27, 2013

87ers-Primary-Logo-PNG(220) From

Beginning next season, the Sixers will have a new minor-league affiliate: the "Sevens."

The team officially announced on Saturday its purchase of an NBA Developmental League team, the Utah Flash, which will be renamed the Delaware 87ers and played at the University of Delaware in Newark.

The name is a nod to Delaware's history as the first state to ratify the U.S. Constitution, on December 7, 1787.

Philadelphia becomes the sixth NBA team with 100-percent direct ownership of a D-League franchise. The league features 17 teams, with each of the 30 NBA teams having at least a shared affiliate.

From the press release:

“The creation of the Delaware 87ers is an important milestone in our quest to ensure that the Philadelphia 76ers are viewed in all respects to be a world-class and cutting-edge NBA franchise. We believe that the ability to own and operate our own NBA D-League affiliate will strengthen our player development and other team initiatives, and be a tremendous asset to the entire Sixers organization,” said Sixers Managing Owner Josh Harris.

You May Like