By Scooby Axson
December 16, 2013

University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz will bid to host the 2016 college football championship. (Christian Petersen/Getty Images) University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz., can seat up to 78,000 fans. (Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

Glendale, Ariz., and Tampa, Fla., were awarded the 2016 and 2017 National Championship games, reports Brett McMurphy of The College Football Playoff later confirmed the news on Twitter.

The 2016 is slated for Jan. 11 and will be played at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, which is also the site of Super Bowl XLIX.

Glendale beat out Jacksonville (EverBank Field), New Orleans (Mercedes-Benz Superdome) and Tampa Bay (Raymond James Stadium) for the 2016 game.

But Tampa, which has hosted four Super Bowls, will host the following year's title game on Jan. 9, 2017.

Next season begins the college football playoff with the first championship game of the playoff era being held at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

You May Like