July 13, 2009

Landon Donovan is an All-Star for the ninth time in nine MLS seasons.

The Los Angeles Galaxy forward joins seven first-time All-Stars among the first 11 players announced Monday. Players, coaches, general managers, media and fans voted on the group, which will face Premier League club Everton on July 29 in Utah.

The defending champion Columbus Crew, first-year Seattle Sounders and Houston Dynamo have two players each.

New England Revolution midfielder Shalrie Joseph is on his sixth straight All-Star team, and Toronto FC midfielder Dwayne De Rosario was picked for the first 11 for the fourth consecutive season. Crew midfielder Guillermo Barros Schelotto is an All-Star for the second time.

First-time All-Stars are Seattle goalkeeper Kasey Keller, Houston defender Geoff Cameron, Chicago defender Wilman Conde, Columbus defender Chad Marshall, Houston midfielder Stuart Holden, Seattle midfielder Freddie Ljungberg and Colorado forward Conor Casey.

You May Like