2017 Gold Cup: CONCACAF reveals locations, stadium sites - Sports Illustrated

CONCACAF reveals host sites for 2017 Gold Cup, destinations for USA, Mexico

The regional championship will be played July 7-26 at 14 venues across the United States.
Publish date:

The 14th CONCACAF Gold Cup will be played next summer at 14 venues across the USA, with stadiums in/near Dallas, Los Angeles, Philadelphia, Phoenix and Santa Clara, California, in frame to host the knockout rounds and final, the regional governing body announced Monday.

The biennial confederation championship again will comprise 12 nations, including the USA and reigning champion Mexico. It will kick off July 7 and conclude on Wednesday, July 26, meaning there will be an atypical weeknight final. The U.S. will play first-round games in Nashville, Tampa and Cleveland. Mexico will play its group-stage matches in San Diego, Denver and San Antonio.

CONCACAF general secretary Philippe Moggio said officials hoped to “bring the Gold Cup to new markets across the country.”

To that end, the schedule includes four first-time hosts: San Antonio, Cleveland, Santa Clara and Nashville.

Mailbag: U.S. women's CBA talks, USMNT January camp's breakout star and more

The draw, match schedule and specific venues for the quarterfinals, semifinals and final won’t be announced until next year, CONCACAF said. While only seven of the 12 Gold Cup qualifiers have been determined, it’s been decided that Bruce Arena’s USA will be the seeded team in Group B while El Tri heads Group C.

The stadiums hosting group-stage doubleheaders will be:


July 7 — Red Bull Arena (Harrison, NJ)

July 11 — BBVA Compass Stadium (Houston)

July 14 — Toyota Stadium (Frisco, TX)


July 8 — Nissan Stadium (Nashville)

July 12 — Raymond James Stadium (Tampa)

July 15 — FirstEnergy Stadium (Cleveland)


July 9 — Qualcomm Stadium (San Diego)

July 13 — Sports Authority Field (Denver)

July 16 — Alamodome (San Antonio)

Bruce Arena lifts lid on part of U.S. men's national team's January camp roster

The stadiums hosting knockout matches will be:

AT&T Stadium (Arlington, Texas)

Levi’s Stadium (Santa Clara)

Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia)

Rose Bowl (Pasadena, California)

University of Phoenix Stadium (Glendale, Arizona)

The Rose Bowl (2002 and 2011) and Lincoln Financial Field (2015) have hosted previous finals.

The USA, Mexico and Canada qualify automatically for the Gold Cup. Curaçao, French Guiana, Jamaica and Martinique booked passage after advancing to the semifinals of the Caribbean Cup, which will finish up in June. The Copa Centroamericana will be played next month in Panama and will send the top four finishers to the Gold Cup. The 12th and final Gold Cup berth will be decided by a playoff between the fifth-place teams from the Caribbean (Haiti, Suriname or Trinidad & Tobago) and Central America.

Previous CONCACAF Champions

1963 - Costa Rica

1965 - Mexico

1967 - Guatemala

1969 - Costa Rica

1971 - Mexico

1973 - Haiti

1977 - Mexico

1981 - Honduras

1985 - Canada

1989 - Costa Rica

Gold Cup era

1991 - USA

1993 - Mexico

1996 - Mexico

1998 - Mexico

2000 - Canada

2002 - USA

2003 - Mexico

2005 - USA

2007 - USA

2009 - Mexico

2011 - Mexico

2013 - USA

2015 - Mexico